Dent County Courthouse
400 N. Main St.
Salem, MO 65560

Commissioners meet on Mondays and Thursdays
from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon except on approved holidays.

The County Commission consists of three county commissioners elected from two districts equal in population as possible by natural geographic boundaries. The Presiding Commissioner is elected by the county at large, and the Associate Commissioners are elected from their respective districts. Both the Presiding and the Associate Commissioners serve for four years per election.

The County Commission manages all aspects of county government not assigned by law to other elected officials. The County Commission is responsible for construction, maintenance and improvement of all buildings, roads, bridges and equipment of the county. The Commission appoints Dent County residents to serve on local service boards. One of the Commissioners’ most important functions is Budgetary. Budgets prepared for each of the various county offices must be approved by the commission. It is the only body that can make decisions on behalf of all county government. Other elected county office holders, who are independently elected throughout the county, have authority in their functional areas. The other officers of the county are independently elected from the entire county.

Presiding Commissioner
Gary M. Larson (R) 

Commissioner, First District
Wes Mobray (R)

Commissioner, Second District
Gary Polk (R)

#Keep Current.
Sign Up for Notifications